The View from Kawaguchiko

IMG_5290Can you believe that a year ago I was looking at this view?  Sometimes, I can’t believe it myself.  It really feels like it was just a long and wonderful dream.  But in March of last year, I took a day out of my Tokyo trip to visit Lake Kawaguchi or Kawaguchiko in order to get a glimpse of the famous Mt. Fuji.

IMG_5263Since the climbing season for Mt. Fuji is actually quite brief–only a couple months in summer, I decided I had to at least go see Mt. Fuji for myself, and after a bit of research, decided to visit Kawaguchiko.  I arrived at Kawaguchiko Station around noon.  To get there from Tokyo, you have to take a bus from Shinjuku Station; it takes a couple of hours.  The drive through Japan is enjoyable–rural landscape starts to blend into more mountainous areas until all of a sudden you see Mt. Fuji looming in the distance.  The sheer size of Fujisan surprised me.  I knew it would be huge, of course, but to see it dwarfing all the surrounding mountains was still a surprise.  I knew I’d made the right choice to come see it.

However, the first thing on my mind when I arrived was lunch.  I asked one of the helpful ladies at the station where to go to get to the actual lake and she provided me with a helpful little map.  So I began trekking down the road in Fujikawaguchiko, a small town that was a nice reprieve from bustling Tokyo.  I spotted the lake soon, and found a nice little restaurant right on the shore so I could get a bite to eat while enjoying the view.

IMG_2343I ordered this pot of nabe–the perfect thing for a cold, winter day!  It was full of vegetables and flavor!

IMG_5270And this was more or less my view.  The lake is wide and surrounded by mountains, making for a spectacular view.  There were these little paddleboats and things, but it wasn’t a very busy tourist season, so no one was really out on the lake.  Apparently, it’s a popular vacation spot, and I can imagine it getting very crowded in the summer.  But while I was there, the streets were still lined with snow and there was a chill in the air, though it was thankfully not as cold as I’d been anticipating.  My North Face jacket was more than warm enough.

IMG_5310I walked around the lake to the bridge that cuts across, so I could get the best views of Mt. Fuji.  Unfortunately, the sky was a bit hazy, so I didn’t have the perfect view I would have liked, but it was more than satisfactory.  I took lots of photos, enjoyed a long walk outdoors, and later in the afternoon, took the bus back to Tokyo.

IMG_5317 And so ended my trip to Tokyo.  There are a couple of little things I did in Tokyo that I might lump together in one more post, but that basically concludes my spring vacation.

I know I’ve been slow with updates about my trip from last year.  (I mean, it’s been exactly a year now!)  But there are only a few more things I want to write about before I get caught up and start talking about my plans for Europe this summer!

As always, thanks for reading.

About secretforkeeps

Hello! I'm just an amateur blogger and photographer who enjoys travel and learning languages. I'm currently back in the US and use my blog to record my past adventures and plan for the future ones. ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The View from Kawaguchiko

  1. Pingback: Japan 2013-2014 | Tripping and Traveling

Leave a Reply

